Women Faculty Forum

Upcoming Events:
Past Events: 
Dean Stoll along with the Women Faculty Forum extends gratitude to everyone that attended the 2019 Excellence Awards on Oct. 7th, 2019.  The Women Faculty honored four McGovern Medical School faculty for their remarkable accomplishments:Excellence in Research:Jacqueline Hecht, Ph.D., Professor and Leah L. Lewis Distinguished Chair in Pediatrics

Louise D. McCullough, M.D., Ph.D., Professor and Roy M. and Phyllis Gough Huffington Distinguished Chair in Neurology

Excellence in Clinical Research

Shao Zhou, M.D., Associate Professor of Anesthesiology

Rising Star

Rachael Sirianni, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery

Left to right: Women Faculty Forum Co-chairs; Ruth Heidelberger and Suur Biliciler, Dean Stoll, Award Winners; Louise McCullough, Jacqueline Hecht, Rachael Sirianni, and Shao Zhou, and Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs, Kevin Morano



The Mission of the Women Faculty Forum

-Advocacy on behalf of the women faculty at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth.

-Opportunities for professional development for women faculty at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth.

-Networking among the women faculty, as well as with the leaders in academic science and medicine within and outside the institution.

Co – Chairs

Ruth Heidelberger, M.D., Ph.D.


Suur Biliciler, M.D.




Chiamaka N. Aneji, M.D., MPH


Susan H. Wootton, M.D.


Bindu Akkanti, M.D., CMQ, FCCP


Amber Zulfiqar, M.D.


Heidi B. Kaplan, Ph.D.


Nayun Kim, Ph.D.


Mandy Hill, DrPH, MPH


Melissa B. Aldrich, Ph.D.


Connect With Us!

Join the WFF Facebook Group for the latest in WFF News and Events!

Opportunities for Career Development

Mid-Career Women Faculty Leadership Development Seminar – AAMC

Click here for more information.

Early Career Women Faculty Professional Development Seminar – AAMC

Click here for more information. 

Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine Fellowship Year – ELAM

Click here for more information.