February 3, 2023

Department Updates – January 2023

Recent Features: Dr. Maria Matuszczak was featured on KRPC-2 Houston for a special challenging procedure she performed which can be found here.     Dr. Barbara Orlando was featured on The Etherist Podcast from Anesthesiology News. Season 4: Burnout During…

February 2, 2023

OB Anesthesia Research Study Published

Congratulations to Obstetric anesthesia for their research study published in Anesthesia and Analgesia January 2023 issue! The study, Postcesarean Analgesia With Epidural Morphine After Epidural 2-Chloroprocaine: A Randomized Noninferiority Trial, is published in the Anesthesia &Analgesia 136(1):p86-93 January 2023 issue. …

January 24, 2023

Dr. Maria Matuszczak Featured on KRPC-2

A young 12-year old boy, Gage, with a brain tumor had to be operated on while he was awake. But due to the location of it, UTHealth Pediatric Neurosurgeon Dr. David Sandberg, had to remove enough to get rid of…

January 19, 2023

2022 Nominations for the Physician of the Year Award for Memorial Hermann Hospital Systems

Congratulations to our faculty members on their 2022 nominations for the Physician of the Year Award for Memorial Hermann Hospital Systems.  Drs. Srikanth Sridhar and Rishi Kumar were both nominated for Memorial Hermann Hospital – Texas Medical Center, and Dr….

January 12, 2023

Pancreatic cancer research published in Cancer Immunology Research

By Roman Petrowski, Office of Communications. Further information can be found here. Recent research on a novel approach to the treatment of pancreatic cancer, from the lab of Jennifer Bailey, PhD, assistant professor in the Department of Anesthesiology, has been published in Cancer…

January 12, 2023

Dr. Yang Yang Awarded a DDC Pilot Award

We are pleased to announce that Dr. Yang Yang is the recipient of the 2023 Pilot Award ($50,000) from the Texas Medical Center Digestive Diseases Center. She is mentored for this Pilot Award by Dr. Cynthia Ju. The Texas Medical…

January 11, 2023

Dr. Stacy Norrell selected as Vice Speaker for TSA

Congratulations to Dr. Stacy Norrell for being selected as the 2023 Vice Speaker of the House of Delegates for the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists (TSA).  More information can be found here.  She will be joining Dr. George Williams as a…

January 9, 2023

Welcome to the Department of Anesthesiology – New Team Members for October, November and December 2022

We would like to welcome the below new faculty and staff members to the department. Kelly West, MD Dr. West joined the department on October 1st as an Assistant Professor to support our critical care medicine group. She completed her…

January 4, 2023

New OB Site Chiefs – LBJ & MHH

We’re pleased to announce our new OB Site Chiefs, Dr. Onyi Onuoha, at Memorial Hermann Hospital and Dr. Alice O’Brien, at Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital. Dr. Alice O’Brien is an Associate Professor in the Obstetric Anesthesiology division with an Adjunct…

December 14, 2022

Spotlight on Connie Atkins

Connie Atkins, Senior Research Associate, for the Department of Anesthesiology, Critical Care and Pain Medicine, was featured on today’s UT Health Spotlight. When did you join UTHealth Houston? What brought you here? After graduating from the University of Houston at…