The mission of research in the Department of Anesthesiology at The University of Texas Medical School in Houston is to pursue excellence and develop new knowledge by conducting clinical, translational and basic science research. We are dedicated to provide, through our basic science and clinical science programs, major contributions to the science of anesthesiology and spearhead major advances in the clinical practice of anesthesiology. Our department has traditionally had a strong basic science research program and in the past half-decade has also emerged as one of the leading clinical research departments in the country.

Marie-Francoise Doursout, Ph.D.
Vice Chair for Research