Cesar Arias, M.D., Ph.D.Cesar Arias, MD, PhD, professor of internal medicine and director of the Center for Antimicrobial Resistance and Microbial Genomics at McGovern Medical School, has received a T32 institutional training grant from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases to launch a postdoctoral training program on antimicrobial resistance called the T32 Texas Medical Center Training Program in Antimicrobial Resistance (TPAMR).

“This is a breakthrough program that not only highlights the power and collaboration of the Texas Medical Center, but also allows for The University of Texas Health Science Center to attract the best young talent to tackle all the complexities of the antimicrobial resistance crisis,” said Arias, who also is the director of the Center for Infectious Diseases at the UTHealth School of Public Health.

The five-year grant will train two postdoctoral researchers in its first year, and four the following years, to provide the skills and tools needed to translate research discovery into clinical practices and to translate patient-based observations back to the laboratory. The program aims to prepare the next generation of physicians, physician-scientists, PharmDs, and PhD researchers on the complex, multifaceted, and challenging problems that antimicrobial resistance presents.

The TPAMR is a unique, multi-institutional, postdoctoral T32 in antimicrobial resistance and received a perfect score among the review board. In total, 28 mentors ranging from basic science, clinical, and translational aspects of AMR, epidemiology, public health, and drug discovery will provide expertise in seven adjacent institutions of the Texas Medical Center and contribute as mentors for the TPAMR.

The program is led by the Center for Antimicrobial Resistance and Microbial Genomics at McGovern Medical School as well as the Gulf Coast Consortia and also encompasses MD Anderson Cancer Center, Baylor College of Medicine, University of Texas Medical Branch, the University of Houston College of Pharmacy, Rice University, the Institute of Biosciences and Technology, Texas A&M University and Houston Methodist Research Institute.