Eisenberg Awarded John P. McGovern Award & Deans Teaching Excellence Award

May 18, 2020

Congratulations to Steven Eisenberg, MD Assistant Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth, for being recognized and awarded for his commitment and contributions to the academic pursuits of the students at McGovern Medical School.

dr. steven eisenberg

Eisenberg was honored and awarded both the John P. McGovern Award and selected as a recipient of the 2020 Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award.  “I was extremely grateful and humbled to win the John P.  McGovern award for the outstanding clinical faculty member as voted on by the senior class,  as well as the Dean’s award for teaching,” says Eisenberg.  The John P. McGovern Award is given annually to a clinical faculty member, selected by the graduating class of the medical school.  The award was established to honor the late Dr. McGovern, who maintained a deep interest in excellence in teaching at the Health Science Center, where he held faculty appointments.  Dr. McGovern is the founder of the McGovern Allergy Clinics, and the award is made possible by an endowment from the McGovern Foundation.  “The culture and focus on education within the Department of Cardiothoracic & Vascular Surgery, as established by founding chair Dr. Hazim J. Safi, continues to be emphasized by Professor and Chair Ad Interim, Dr. Anthony L.  Estrera.  This has allowed not only myself, but all members of the department to commit themselves to Medical Education,” he says.

Eisenberg was also selected as one of four CVSurgery faculty members to receive the 2020 Deans Teaching Excellence Award, which highlights faculty members within each department, as selected by Dean Barbara J. Stoll, MD.  As a graduate of the UTHealth Medical School (1982), Dr. Eisenberg states that, “medical student education has always been very important to me.  In these uncertain times, my colleagues and I welcome the challenge of integrating new technologies and innovation into the Medical Education process.”

Congratulations Dr. Eisenberg!