2020 Vascular Surgery Residency & Fellowship Graduation

June 28, 2020

Scott Ryan, MD & Hunter Ray, MD

Graduates Scott Ryan, MD (left) & Hunter Ray, MD (right)

We are pleased to announce the recent graduation of Hunter Ray, MD and Scott Ryan, MD from the vascular surgery training programs offered under the Department of Cardiothoracic & Vascular Surgery at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth in partnership with Memorial Hermann and Harris Health.  Ray has completed his five-year training through the Integrated Vascular Surgery Residency Program, along with Ryan who has finished the two year Vascular Surgery Fellowship. While unable to come together to celebrate their accomplishments due to COVID-19, the graduates were recognized with a virtual celebration honoring their achievements, along with annual end-of-the-year-awards recognizing faculty members and current residents and fellows.

  • Associate Professor of Vascular Surgery, Naveed U. Saqib, MD, FACS and Associate Professor and Chief of Thoracic Surgery, Philip Rascoe, MD, FACS were the recipients of the 2020 Faculty Teaching Award
  • Samuel D. Leonard, MD was the recipient of the Program Director’s Award for Excellence in Self-Directed Learning for 2020
  • Akiko Tanaka, MD, PhD received the Young Clinical Investigator of the Year Award, 2020
  • Kate Peng, MD was the recipient of the 2020 Resident Teaching Award
  • Graduate, Hunter Ray, MD received the VSITE Award, recognizing his high score in Vascular Surgery In-Training Examination, which coincidentally was administered the same day as his wedding

One of the highlights of the virtual graduation celebration was the announcement of our newly appointed Director of Vascular Surgery Education, Naveed U. Saqib, MD, FACS.  In his new role, Saqib will oversee, and provide leadership for the integrated vascular surgery residency program, and vascular surgery fellowship at McGovern Medical School.

Congratulations to all award recipients.

Saqib, Ray, Ryan in Surgery

From left to right: Saqib, Ray, Ryan in Surgery, 2020

Dr. Hunter Ray completed his undergraduate degree at Texas A&M University, and medical school degree at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth.  Upon completion of his training, Ray will begin his career here in Houston where he has accepted a vascular surgery position with HCA.  Throughout his five years of training with Memorial Hermann and Harris Health, Ray has been the recipient of several awards, including, the 2016 S. Timothy String Presidential Award,  the SAVS 2020 Top Gun Award, and First Place for the SAVS 2019 Poster Competition.

Dr. Scott Ryan completed his undergraduate degree at Baylor University and received his medical school degree at The University of Arkansas.  Ryan went on to complete his general surgery residency at the Carilion Clinic-Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine, followed by a vascular surgery fellowship here at UTHealth.  Ryan and his family of six have relocated to Little Rock, Arkansas, where he will spearhead the Arkansas Vascular Surgery private practice.

We look forward to the future successes of Drs. Ray and Ryan as they begin their careers dedicated to the treatment and care of patients.  Each of the surgeons are exemplary members of the McGovern Medical School Vascular Surgery Alumni Group, and will be prime continuations of the legacy of the department.

We would be remiss not to extend gratitude and appreciation to the faculty, staff, family members, and friends who supported these two individuals as they overcame the challenges associated with completing their respective surgical training program.  In addition to the long hours, and time spent away from home, the sacrifices of their support systems do not go unnoticed. Thank you to all!

-Caliann Ferguson

Virtual Graduation

Virtual Graduation Celebration, 2020. Thank you to Pearl Adams for organizing the evening.