Latino Medical Student Association (LMSA)


July 26, 2021

The Latino Medical Student Association (LMSA) at McGovern exists to unite an empower current and future physicians through service, mentorship, and education to advocate for the improved health of the Hispanic & Latina/o/x community in the United States.

Important Links

Mailing List:  https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1NqUudZHjMHgXwYO6ea75hYNCobxCpQ4PjfYkt8TpVus/edit?usp=sharing
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/262479500610043/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lmsa_mcgovern/?hl=en
Website: https://national.lmsa.net/

Meeting Dates for the 2022-2023 Academic Year:

  • 8/15: Cultural Competency & Introduction to LMSA – MSB b. 500
  • 9/21: Latinos in Residency – Multi-Specialty Panel – MSB B. 645
  • 10/10: Mental Health in the Latino Community – MSB B. 500
  • 11/15: Latinas in Medicine – MSB B. 500
  • 12/6: Language Barriers in Medicine – Importance of Medical Spanish – MSB B. 500
  • 2/7: Cardiovascular Disease in the Latino Community and Social Determinants of Health – TBD
  • 3/3: Latinos in Healthcare – Importance of Interdisciplinary Collaboration -TBD
  • 4/24: MS4 Match Panel – Latinos Applying to Residency – TBD

Meeting Dates for the 2022-2023 Academic Year:

  • 8/20: Dinner at Empire Cafe @ 6:30pm
    Empire Cafe 1732 Westheimer Rd.
  • 9/16: Hispanic Heritage Month Zumba @ 4pm-6pm
    TBD
  • 9/24: Mixer at Post @ 6:30pm
    Post HTX 401 Franklin St.
  • 11/12: Mixer at Buffalo Brew @ 6:30pm
    Buffalo Brew 2102 Summer St.
  • 11/16: Dia de los Muertos Calavera Painting @ 12pm-1pm
    TBD

Contact Information

Organization Email:gaspar.pina@uth.tmc.edu

President: Gaspar Pina
Email: gaspar.pina@uth.tmc.edu

Internal Vice President: Gloria Contreras
Email: gloria.m.contreras@uth.tmc.edu

External Vice President: Elizabeth Rodriguez
Email: elizabeth.r.rodriguez@uth.tmc.edu

Treasurer: Anita Barrera
Email: anita.e.barrera@uth.tmc.edu

Medical Spanish Director: Denisse Arroyo
Email: denisse.a.arroyo@uth.tmc.edu

Community Service Director: Aria Tovar
Email: maria.c.tovar@uth.tmc.edu

Event Director/Social Media Manager: Erica Ruiz
Email: erica.m.ruiz@uth.tmc.edu


Share content