Dr. Francisco Fuentes honored with Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award

Dr. Francisco Fuentes, of the Department of Internal Medicine, is the 2016 recipient of the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation. Awarded annually, this award honors faculty who best demonstrate the Foundation’s ideals: exhibiting exemplary compassion and sensitivity in patient and family care; excellence in clinical care; and respect for patients, their families, and healthcare colleagues.

Fuentes received his M.D. from the University of Valencia School of Medicine in Valencia, Spain. He completed his residency at The Hospital Santa Cruz & San Pablo in Barcelona, Spain, and a fellowship at Houston’s own Baylor College of Medicine. He joined UTHealth Medical School faculty in 1978 as board certified cardiologist.

Named The Theodore & Maureen O’Driscoll-Levy Professor, Dr. Fuentes is the Director of the Cardiac Rehabilitation Program as well as the Cardiology Fellowship Program, underscoring his commitment to clinical and educational excellence. Fuentes is the recipient of the Herbert L. and Margaret W. DuPont Master Clinical Teaching Award, and he was named Texas Super Doctor by Texas Monthly and Top Doctors for Women – Cardiology by H. Texas Magazine. He was presented with a Special Congressional Recognition by Congressman Al Green in Honor of Outstanding Dedication to Healthcare, Education, and Community Service. The American Heart Association honored Dr. Fuentes for Numerous Contributions to the Field of Cardiovascular Medicine and the Hispanic Community, and he received the Benjy F. Brooks M.D. Award from McGovern Medical School, formerly the University of Texas Medical School at Houston, for outstanding clinical faculty.



Previous winners of the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award include Heinrich Taegtmeyer, M.D., 2015; Joseph Love, D.O., 2014; Joanne Oakes, M.D., 2013; Stefano Sdringola-Maranga, M.D., 2012; Saleem Khan, M.D., 2011; Gus W. Krucke, M.D., 2010; James “Red” Duke, M.D., 2009; Pedro Mancias, M.D., 2008; Keith Hoots, M.D., 2006; Larry C. Gilstrap III, M.D., 2005; Virginia A. Moyer, M.D., M.P.H., 2004; Cheves M. Smythe, M.D., 2003;Oscar Rosales, M.D., 2002; Philip C. Johnson, M.D., 2001; Philip R. Orlander, M.D., 2000; and John R. Stroehlein, M.D., 1999.