November 3, 2023

Mary Horton receives honor from Albert Schweitzer Fellowship

The Albert Schweitzer Fellowship of Houston-Galveston hosted its 2023 Celebration of Service on October 26. During the event, Mary Horton, PhD, MPH, MA, received an award honoring her service as a mentor to students. Horton is core faculty with the…

October 13, 2023

Keisha Ray receives Dr. Claretta Dupre Award

At the 2023 Annual Meeting of the American Society for Bioethics and Humanities, Keisha Ray, PhD, was awarded the 3rd Annual Dr. Claretta Dupre award. Ray was recognized for her commitment to justice in bioethics by the ASBH Race, Culture,…

October 7, 2023

Keisha Ray awarded McGovern Professorship in Oslerian Medicine

Congratulations are due to Keisha Ray, PhD, who has been awarded the John P. McGovern, MD Professorship in Oslerian Medicine, effective September 1, 2023. Ray was recently promoted to associate professor and awarded tenure.

August 2, 2023

Angela Gomez, Rachel Jantea, and Francine Snow win 2nd place for poster

The 2023 UTHealth Houston Advances in Teaching & Learning Day was held on Friday, July 28. As part of the university’s Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP), co-director and Center faculty Angela Gomez, EdD presented two posters—one on the Virtual Interprofessional Policy…

May 3, 2023

Keisha Ray receives Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award

For the second consecutive year, Keisha Ray, PhD, has received the Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award. Ray directs the McGovern Center’s Medical Humanities Scholarly Concentration, the fourth-year elective Humanistic Elements of Medicine, and the longitudinal themes within McGovern Medical School’s curriculum….

March 31, 2023

Pritha Bhattacharyya wins prize for fiction

Pritha Bhattacharyya, MFA, won the 2023 Inprint Joan and Stanford Alexander Prize in Fiction. As part of the Menil’s Neighborhood Community Day on April 1, she will give a short reading of her prize-winning work alongside other award recipients. Bhattacharyya…

March 30, 2023

Announcement of the 2023 Karff Awards winners

The McGovern Center for Humanities and Ethics (McGovern Center) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Karff Chair Awards. These are given to graduating seniors at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth Houston. These awards are made possible through…

March 24, 2023

Medical humanities students among newest members of Gold Humanism Honor Society

McGovern Medical School welcomed the newest members of the Gold Humanism Honor Society, Feb. 27. The mission of Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) is to recognize individuals who are exemplars of humanistic patient care and who can serve as role…

March 23, 2023

Barratt wins Distinguished Faculty Award in Professionalism

The McGovern Medical School Office of Professionalism has named Michelle S. Barratt, MD, MPH, professor in the Department of Pediatrics, the 2023 winner of the John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished Faculty Award in Professionalism Education. “It is a…

March 23, 2023

Flores named Geriatric Society Fellow

The American Geriatric Society has named Renee Flores, MD, associate professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, as a member of its 2023 Class of AGS Fellows. AGS Fellow Status is awarded to AGS members who have demonstrated a professional…