March 16, 2023

Ray, Sharrief win McGovern DEI Awards

The Office of Diversity and Inclusion selected Keisha Ray, PhD, and Anjail Sharrief, MD, as the 2023 winners of the John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished Faculty Awards in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI). The Distinguished Faculty Award in…

March 4, 2023

QEP team members win award at 2023 Innovations conference

Congratulations to Jessica Wise, MPH; Angela Gomez, EdD, MBA, MS; and Stephen Linder, PhD! Led by Wise, the team received 2nd place for their poster, “A Campus-Wide ‘Civics 101’ Learning Module for Diverse Disciplines in the Health Science,” at the…

February 23, 2023

Associate faculty member, Vineeth John inducted into Kenneth I. Shine, MD, Academy

Vineeth John, MD, professor and vice chair for education in the Louis A. Faillace, MD, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, is one of four UTHealth Houston faculty inducted into the 2023 class of The University of Texas Kenneth I….

December 21, 2022

Nathan Carlin among faculty recognized for exemplary service

In this season of gratitude and giving, UTHealth Houston celebrated faculty endowment holders and honored the generous benefactors who created those endowments to propel the university’s mission forward. During a luncheon hosted by Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, MD, UTHealth Houston president…

December 20, 2022

Chris Mackenzie wins inaugural Rebecca Lunstroth Faculty Service Award

The McGovern Center for Humanities and Ethics has named Chris Mackenzie, PhD, assistant professor in the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, as the inaugural winner of the Rebecca Lunstroth Faculty Service Award. The Rebecca Lunstroth Faculty Service Award recognizes…

November 18, 2022

Susan Fenton receives 2021 President’s Scholar Award for teaching

Congratulations to associate faculty and Quality Enhancement Plan team member Susan H. Fenton, PhD, received the 2021 President’s Scholar Award for Teaching. The honor was given by UTHealth Houston President and Alkek-Williams Distinguished Chair, Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, MD, at a…

July 13, 2022

Stephen Linder appointed to Board of Environmental Change and Society

Congratulations to Stephen H. Linder, PhD, professor with the Department of Management, Policy, and Community Health, for his recent appointment to the Board on Environmental Change and Society (BECS) of the National Academy of Sciences. The National Academy of Sciences…

May 5, 2022

Keisha Ray awarded for teaching excellence

Congratulations are in order for Keisha Ray, PhD, who has received the 2022 Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award. Other faculty of McGovern Medical School also received this honor and are listed here.

April 4, 2022

2022 Karff Awards winners selected

The McGovern Center for Humanities and Ethics is pleased to announce the winners of the 2022 Karff Chair Awards. These awards are given to graduating seniors at McGovern Medical School and the School of Dentistry at UTHealth Houston. Prizes for…

March 8, 2022

BRIDGE grant awarded to Keisha Ray and Kirsten Ostherr

Keisha Ray, PhD, and Kirsten Ostherr, PhD, MPH, were awarded a grant for their project, “Leveraging Medical Humanities to Eradicate Racial Health Disparities.” The grant comes from BRIDGE at Rice University. Congratulations, Drs. Ray and Ostherr!