November 3, 2023

Mary Horton receives honor from Albert Schweitzer Fellowship

The Albert Schweitzer Fellowship of Houston-Galveston hosted its 2023 Celebration of Service on October 26. During the event, Mary Horton, PhD, MPH, MA, received an award honoring her service as a mentor to students. Horton is core faculty with the…

October 13, 2023

Keisha Ray receives Dr. Claretta Dupre Award

At the 2023 Annual Meeting of the American Society for Bioethics and Humanities, Keisha Ray, PhD, was awarded the 3rd Annual Dr. Claretta Dupre award. Ray was recognized for her commitment to justice in bioethics by the ASBH Race, Culture,…

October 7, 2023

Keisha Ray awarded McGovern Professorship in Oslerian Medicine

Congratulations are due to Keisha Ray, PhD, who has been awarded the John P. McGovern, MD Professorship in Oslerian Medicine, effective September 1, 2023. Ray was recently promoted to associate professor and awarded tenure.

May 3, 2023

Keisha Ray receives Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award

For the second consecutive year, Keisha Ray, PhD, has received the Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award. Ray directs the McGovern Center’s Medical Humanities Scholarly Concentration, the fourth-year elective Humanistic Elements of Medicine, and the longitudinal themes within McGovern Medical School’s curriculum….

April 28, 2023

Keisha Ray awarded tenure

The McGovern Center congratulates Keisha Ray, PhD, who has been promoted to Associate Professor with Tenure, effective September 1. Dr. Ray was a former Postdoctoral Fellow with the Center and, later, returned as Assistant Professor in January 2019.

March 23, 2023

Barratt wins Distinguished Faculty Award in Professionalism

The McGovern Medical School Office of Professionalism has named Michelle S. Barratt, MD, MPH, professor in the Department of Pediatrics, the 2023 winner of the John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished Faculty Award in Professionalism Education. “It is a…

March 23, 2023

Flores named Geriatric Society Fellow

The American Geriatric Society has named Renee Flores, MD, associate professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, as a member of its 2023 Class of AGS Fellows. AGS Fellow Status is awarded to AGS members who have demonstrated a professional…

March 16, 2023

Ray, Sharrief win McGovern DEI Awards

The Office of Diversity and Inclusion selected Keisha Ray, PhD, and Anjail Sharrief, MD, as the 2023 winners of the John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished Faculty Awards in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI). The Distinguished Faculty Award in…

February 23, 2023

Associate faculty member, Vineeth John inducted into Kenneth I. Shine, MD, Academy

Vineeth John, MD, professor and vice chair for education in the Louis A. Faillace, MD, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, is one of four UTHealth Houston faculty inducted into the 2023 class of The University of Texas Kenneth I….

December 21, 2022

Nathan Carlin among faculty recognized for exemplary service

In this season of gratitude and giving, UTHealth Houston celebrated faculty endowment holders and honored the generous benefactors who created those endowments to propel the university’s mission forward. During a luncheon hosted by Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, MD, UTHealth Houston president…