Dr. Eric Eichenwald
Dr. Eric Eichenwald

Dean Giuseppe Colasurdo has announced the appointment of chairs for the Department of Pediatrics and the Department of Emergency Medicine.

Following a national search, Dr. Eric Eichenwald has been named the chair of the Department of Pediatrics, effective June 1, 2013. He joined the Medical School in 2011 as a professor and director of the Division of Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine and also is assistant dean for healthcare quality. He received his M.D. from Harvard Medical School, did a residency in pediatrics at Children’s Hospital in Boston, and completed a fellowship in neonatal-perinatal medicine at Harvard. His clinical research interests include quality improvement in the NICU.

“It has always been an honor to work with Dr. Eichenwald. He is a world-class neonatologist and leader,” said Susie Distefano, CEO of Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital. “We are excited to continue our long-standing partnership with the Department of Pediatrics at UTHealth and congratulate Dr. Eichenwald on his well-deserved new role.”

Dean Colasurdo, himself a pediatrician who served as the chair of the Department of Pediatrics for seven years, echoed Distefano’s comments.

“Even serving as dean or president, the Department of Pediatrics has always held a special place in my heart. I can say without reservation that Dr. Eichenwald and his leadership team will successfully guide and grow the department during this challenging period in health care,” he said.

Dr. James McCarthy

Dr. James McCarthy, associate professor of emergency medicine, has been named as term chair for the Department of Emergency Medicine, effective June 1, 2013.  McCarthy has agreed to serve in this role until a permanent chair is named, following a national search.

McCarthy joined the Medical School in July 2001 as an assistant professor of emergency medicine.  He received his medical degree from Loyola University, Chicago Stritch School of Medicine and completed his emergency medicine residency at the University of Chicago.

Outgoing chair Dr. Brent King, who has served as chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine since 1999, has been appointed chief medical officer and physician-in-chief of Nemours Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children in Wilmington, Del.

“On behalf of Craig Cordola and myself, I would like to thank Dr. King for his many years of outstanding service to the school, the university, and the hospital and medical staff, and to congratulate him on his new position. We are confident that the Department of Emergency Medicine will continue to grow and strengthen under Dr. McCarthy’s leadership,” Dean Colasurdo said. “This is a stimulating time to be in academic medicine, and the Medical School is fortunate to have such innovative and driven chairs.”

“Memorial Hermann’s partnership with UT and each of its chairs is very important, and we look forward to continue working with Dr. McCarthy and Dr. Eichenwald in their new roles,” added Craig Cordola, CEO of Memorial Hermann – Texas Medical Center.

-Darla Brown, Office of Communications, Medical School