Dr. James McCarthy, left, shakes hands with Dr. Brent King after presenting King with a plaque honoring him for his years as Chair of the UTHealth Emergency Medicine Department during a 20th Anniversary Celebration at the Petroleum Club of Houston April 26, 2013. McCarthy will succeed King as chair June 1.