Dean Giuseppe Colasurdo
Dean Giuseppe Colasurdo

The executive search firm Spencer Stuart has been engaged to conduct a national search for the next dean of The University of Texas Medical School at Houston.

Dr. Giuseppe Colasurdo, who has served as dean of the Medical School since Sept. 1, 2007, was named president and the Alkek-Williams Distinguished Chair of The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) Oct. 22, 2012. He agreed to continue serving as dean until a national search for his successor is completed.

“I am confident that Spencer Stuart, in concert with the search committee, will assemble three outstanding finalists for this very important position,” President Colasurdo said. “I consider the Medical School my professional home, and I am grateful to the committee for providing guidance and expertise for our school’s future leadership.”

The search committee for the Medical School dean will be co-chaired by Dr. George Stancel, executive vice president for academic and research affairs, and Kevin Dillon, senior executive vice president, chief operating and financial officer.

Other members of the search committee include Dr. Mike Blackburn, dean of the UTHealth Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences; Dr. LaTanya Love, assistant dean for admissions and student affairs and assistant dean for diversity and inclusion; Dr. Richard Andrassy, chair of the Department of Surgery; Craig Cordola, CEO of Memorial Hermann – Texas Medical Center; David Lopez, CEO of Harris Health; Dr. Tom Cole, director of the McGovern Health and Human Spirit Program and chair of the Interfaculty Council; Dr. Carmen Dessauer, professor of integrative biology and pharmacology; and Dr. Nancy McNiel, associate dean for administrative affairs.

“There is no deadline for the search process – it will end when the right leader for the Medical School is selected,” President Colasurdo added.

-Darla Brown, Office of Communications, Medical School