Dr. Pedro Mancias accepts the McGovern award from Dean Giuseppe Colasurdo.
Dr. Pedro Mancias, associate professor of pediatrics and neurology in the division of child and adolescent neurology and assistant dean of diversity and inclusion, has been named the winner of the John P. McGovern Outstanding Teaching Award as the exceptional clinical teacher.

Mancias is a ’88 graduate of the Medical School.  He completed two years of pediatric residency at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences at Arkansas Children’s Hospital in Little Rock and his pediatric neurology residency and fellowship in pediatric electromyography and neuromuscular disorders at the Medical School.

He joined the Medical School faculty in 1996. He lectures in the first-year neuroscience course giving many of the clinical correlates, in addition to lecturing on abnormal development in the second-year developmental course, and in the third-year neurology clerkship.  He also attends on the pediatric neurology inpatient service, outpatient clinic, and performs EMG/nerve conduction studies.

He received the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award, which is sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, in 2008, the John P. McGovern Outstanding Teaching Award in 2009, the Benjy F. Brooks Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award in 2009, and the Herbert and Margaret DuPont Master Clinical Teacher Award in 2001.

He said his teaching philosophy is to make everything relevant to the students and to tie the experiences back to their basic science background. “I also tend to use a lot of actual patient stories since a story is easy to retell and remember,” he added.

The John P. McGovern Award is given annually to the outstanding clinical faculty member as chosen by the senior class. The award is made possible by an endowment from the McGovern Foundation.

Mancias said he is honored by the recognition.

“I am thankful for the opportunity to interact with our students, residents, and fellows and help in their education in becoming excellent physicians and members of society. I am honored to be chosen, and it makes it easier when you get recognized for doing something that you enjoy doing,” he said.

Previous recipients of the award include Gabriel Aisenberg, M.D., 2012; Eugene Toy, M.D., 2011, 2009, 2002; Octavio Pinell, M.D., 2010, 2008, 2006, 2004, 2001, 1999, 1997, 1995; Alberto Puig, M.D., Ph.D., 2007, 2005; Frank Arnett, M.D., 2003, 2000; Edward Yeomans, M.D., 1998; John F. Donnelly, M.D., 1996, 1993, 1990; James T. Willerson, M.D., 1994; John M. Passmore, M.D., 1992; and Herbert L. DuPont, M.D., 1991.

-Darla Brown, Office of Communications, Medical School