Dr. Andrew Harper
Dr. Andrew Harper, chief medical officer of UT Harris County Psychiatric Center (UTHCPC), has been elected president-elect of the Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians (TSPP).

“Dr. Harper’s election to the presidency of the TSPP is an honor for him, UTHCPC and the Department of Psychiatry,” said Dr. Jair Soares, UTHCPC CEO and chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences.  “It is recognition of Dr. Harper’s contributions to patient care, clinical education of medical professionals in all disciplines, and his work in the community.”

Harper, professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences, also serves as assistant dean for educational programs. He received his medical degree from the Medical School, where he also completed residencies in psychiatry and child and adolescent psychiatry.

The Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians is dedicated to developing the highest quality of comprehensive psychiatric care for patients, families, and communities.

TSPPs objectives are to function in cooperation with, and as a component part of, the American Psychiatric Association:

to promote the best interests of patients and those actively or potentially making use of mental health services;
to advance the standards of all psychiatric services and facilities;
to foster the cooperation of all who are concerned with the medical, psychological, social, and legal aspects of mental health and illness;
to make psychiatric knowledge available to other practitioners of medicine, to scientists in other fields of knowledge, and to the public; and,
to assist the American Psychiatric Association in the promotion of its aims and objectives.