Dr. Joanne Oakes
Dr. Joanne Oakes

Dr. Joanne Oakes, associate professor of emergency medicine, is the recipient of a special award by the Medical School’s Alumni Association, the Distinguished Service Award.

The Distinguished Service Award is a new category of award created by the Alumni Association to honor a deserving individual who “truly epitomizes their values and has demonstrated devoted dedication to the school, the medical students and residents, and to the alumni.”

The award is a special designation, designed recognize outstanding individuals who are not alumni of the Medical School, according to Derrick Miller, director of Alumni Relations.

Oakes, who supports the Alumni Association through the Henry Strobel Medical School annual retreat, the Alumni Association’s Welcome Weekend, and other student and alumni mentoring activities, said she was completely surprised by the award.

“Our current students become our alumni so quickly,” Oakes said. “The association is a fantastic resource for all our current students and graduates. While I am not an official UTH alumnus, I am honored that I became an honorary Alumni Association member with this award! I applaud all the dedicated Alumni Association members who work tirelessly for our graduates and students!”

Oakes received her medical degree from The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School in Dallas and completed her emergency medicine residency at Carolinas Medical Center in Charlotte, North Carolina. She also completed an American College of Emergency Physicians Teaching Fellowship.

She joined the Medical School faculty in 2002 and is on staff of Memorial Hermann – Texas Medical Center and LBJ General Hospital.

-Darla Brown, Office of Communications, Medical School