Winners of the poster award for the 2014 Molecular Basis of Infectious Diseases (MBID) Retreat gathered at The UTHealth Medical School Institute of Molecular Medicine. Postdoctoral fellow poster award winners were Dr. Troy Hammerstrom, first place; Dr. Minny Bahti, second place; and Dr. Puja Yadav, third place. Winners of the graduate student poster awards were Melissa Reardon-Robinson, first place; Heather Danhof, second place; and Maria Camila Montealegre, third place. Dr. Timothy Palzkill and Dr. H. Steven Seifert were the keynote speakers for the retreat, co-organized by Dr. Heidi Kaplan and Dr. Steven Norris.