Dr. Gabriel Aisenberg
Dr. Gabriel Aisenberg

Dr. Gabriel Aisenberg, assistant professor of internal medicine and director of general internal medicine at LBJ Hospital, has been named the winner of the John P. McGovern Award as the exceptional clinical teacher. This is his second time to win the McGovern award – the first was in 2012.

“I was surprised, happy, humbled, and intimately proud,” Aisenberg said of his most recent award.

The John P. McGovern Award is given annually to the outstanding clinical faculty member as chosen by the senior class. The award is made possible by an endowment from the McGovern Foundation. Faculty may not win the award in consecutive years.

Aisenberg graduated from the University of Buenos Aires School of Medicine and completed a residency in internal medicine at Sanatorio Mitre in Buenos Aires, followed by an infectious diseases fellowship at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and an internal medicine residency at the Medical School. He joined McGovern Medical School faculty in 2010.

Continual learning and adaptation to change are integral to his teaching philosophy.

“I tell my students “I’m not better than you; just older. I am not here to teach you what, but how. I certainly don’t own the truth, but may be that doesn’t matter; for what it is considered truth today may not be tomorrow,’” he said.

Seeing learning in action is what Aisenberg said he enjoys most about teaching.

“This, for a young mind still trying to find its shape may be paralyzing. Yet, it is amazing ­– at least to me -­- to see that moment in which the students develop the germ of skepticism, and instead of giving up, they get the energy to start looking for that metaphor of the truth that we call evidence,” he explained.

“I thank the graduating class for learning so much from what they don’t know, and the school for allowing me to promote that technique.”

Previous recipients of the award include Pedro Mancias, M.D., 2013; Aisenberg, 2012; Eugene Toy, M.D., 2011, 2009, 2002; Octavio Pinell, M.D., 2010, 2008, 2006, 2004, 2001, 1999, 1997, 1995; Alberto Puig, M.D., Ph.D., 2007, 2005; Frank Arnett, M.D., 2003, 2000; Edward Yeomans, M.D., 1998; John F. Donnelly, M.D., 1996, 1993, 1990; James T. Willerson, M.D., 1994; John M. Passmore, M.D., 1992; and Herbert L. DuPont, M.D., 1991.

-Darla Brown, Office of Communications, Medical School