Dean Giuseppe Colasurdo presents the Freeman Award to Dr. Dawnelle Schatte.
Dr. Dawnelle Schatte, assistant professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences, is this year’s winner of the John H. Freeman Award for Faculty Teaching.

Chosen by the senior class, the Freeman Award is given annually to recognize the Medical School’s outstanding basic science faculty member.

“This is a great graduating class, and the basic science faculty who have worked with them are superb. I’m very honored to have been chosen,” Schatte said.

The recipient of this award, which was established by university funds named in Freeman’s honor, must exemplify enthusiasm and drive toward effective teaching, have a personal interest in students’ problems and their educational goals, and set an example that serves as a high standard for students.

“My priority with the medical student education is enhancing feedback and reflection for self-directed learning and identity formation, because I believe this will support and develop the most satisfied and humanistic physicians.  I teach students and take care of patients because it allows me to feel fulfilled that I have used my talents and energies for the greatest good,” she explained. Schatte added that she focuses on providing active learning to promote problem-solving.

Schatte received her M.D. from Baylor College of Medicine, where she also completed her residency in psychiatry. She completed her fellowship in child and adolescent psychiatry at UTHealth. Her clinical experience is primarily in consult-liaison child and adolescent psychiatry, forensic psychiatry with juvenile offenders, and treatment of traumatized youth. She provides psychiatric care for abused children and adolescents within the multidisciplinary treatment group of the CARE Clinic, part of the Forensic Assessment Center Network.

In addition to her clinical work, she is the director of educational programs for the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, overseeing the medical students’ curriculum in psychiatry, and she is faculty adviser for the following student organizations: Gay Straight Alliance, American Medical Women’s Association, and Student Interest Group in Neurology/Psychiatry. She also lectures in the behavioral science course, for MS2s, and team-based learning in the clerkship for MS3 students.

“The students write reflective journals for the psychiatry clerkship, and also write of their reactions to our patient advocacy panels in the behavioral science course.  I am constantly amazed and inspired by what they think and write about.  To witness the growth from student to physician is a privilege, and I’d like to thank the students, the school, and my chair for this opportunity,” she said.  “I also thank our course coordinator, Kristi Rowell, for doing such a great job of keeping us organized and helping our students.”

Previous winners include Joanne Oakes, M.D., 2012; Elizabeth Hartwell, M.D., 2007; Han Zhang, M.D., 2013, 2010, 2008, 2006; Margaret O. Uthman, M.D., 2011, 2009, 2005, 2001, 1999, 1997; Kent Heck, M.D., 2004, 2002; Norman Weisbrodt, Ph.D., 2003; Barry Van Winkle, Ph.D., 2000, 1998; Marsha L. Eigenbrodt, M.D., M.P.H., 1996; Ron C. Philo, Ph.D., 1995; Harley D. Sybers, M.D., Ph.D., 1994, 1992, 1990; Frank W. Booth, M.D., 1993; and Karmen L. Schmidt, Ph.D., 1991.

-Darla Brown, Office of Communications, Medical School