Dr. Carin Hagberg
Dr. Carin Hagberg

Two outstanding alumni of McGovern Medical School will be honored in a special ceremony Friday, Oct. 24, at Trevisio.

Jan Patterson, M.D., ’82, and Carin Hagberg, M.D., ’88, are the 2014 winners of the Distinguished Alumnus Award of The University of Texas Medical School at Houston and will be the featured guests of honor at the Distinguished Alumnus Award ceremony.

Established in 1987, the purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding contributions of alumni in the areas of medical science and education, or the prevention and treatment of diseases, as well as continued interests in the Medical School and its students.

Patterson is associate dean for Quality and Lifelong Learning and the director of the Center for Patient Safety & Health Policy at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.

Patterson joined The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Medicine in 1993 as an associate professor of medicine and pathology and director of the Epidemiology Laboratory. She has served as interim chair of the Health Science Center’s Department of Medicine, chief of the VA Medical Service at South Texas Veterans Health Care System in San Antonio, as well as chief of the Section of Infectious Diseases at the VA.

She received her bachelor’s degree from Hardin-Simmons University and completed a master’s of science degree in health care management at Harvard School of Public Health. She did an internship and residency in medicine at Vanderbilt University Medical Center and a postdoctoral fellowship in infectious diseases and a program in Hospital Epidemiology International Travelers and Tropical Medicine Clinic at Yale University School of Medicine.

Dr. Jan Patterson
Dr. Jan Patterson

Patterson’s honors include being named the UT System Vice Chancellor’s Health Fellow in Clinical Effectiveness; winning the Outstanding Community Leader from UTHSCSA Award from the Bexar County Medical Society; and being inducted into the San Antonio Women’s Hall of Fame. While in medical school, she was named the Outstanding Woman Graduate of the Class of 1982 and the Outstanding Student in Internal Medicine.

“What distinguishes Jan is her quiet humility, her never-ending smile and optimism, her resolute ability to bring out the best in her students and peers, and her absolute dedication to the well-being of others. When asked to comment about Jan, everyone says, ‘I want to be exactly like her when I grow up,’” wrote her nominator.

The Joseph C. Gabel Professor, Hagberg has served McGovern Medical School as the chair of the Department of Anesthesiology since 2008. She also is the medical director of Perioperative Services at Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center.

Joining the Medical School faculty as an assistant professor of anesthesiology in 1992, Hagberg has served as program director of undergraduate education, program director for residency education, as well as vice chair and interim chair of the Department of Anesthesiology.

She received her undergraduate degree from the University of Massachusetts and completed a surgery internship at Methodist Hospital in Dallas, following graduation from medical school. She completed her anesthesiology residence at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School and Parkland Memorial Hospital, serving as chief resident.

Hagberg has been a recipient of the Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award numerous times as well as the recipient of the Outstanding Clinical Instructor Award from the department’s residents. She has served as a mentor to multiple fourth-year students who are interested in anesthesiology as a career choice.

She is a member of the UT Academy of Master Educators and has been active in the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists and the Society for Airway Management, which granted her its Distinguished Service Award. Hagberg serves on the editorial board of two international anesthesia journals.

“Despite all these accomplishments, Carin’s achievements pale in comparison to the major impact she has had since becoming chair of the department,” wrote her nominator. “All of us in the department awaken each morning to find communications, directives and advice from Carin, which originated sometime long after we went to bed!”

This is not the first time two Distinguished Alumni have been recognized in one year; in 1991, awards went to Jack Holladay, M.D., ’74, and Richard Smalling, M.D., Ph.D., ’75.

The Oct. 24 event begins with a cocktail reception at 6 p.m., followed by dinner at 7 p.m. The dress is cocktail attire, and a cash bar will be available. To register for the event, please see the website.

-Darla Brown, Office of Communications, Medical School