Dr. Ian Butler is one of the course directors of the Pediatric Neuroscience Symposium.
The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) Medical School and Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital will host the Pediatric Neuroscience Symposium 2015 from 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m. Saturday, May 2, at Hermann Pavilion Conference Center, 6411 Fannin St.

The one-day conference for pediatricians and other pediatric clinical providers will address current and changing concepts in the care of children with neurological conditions. Continuing medical education credits are available.

Topics include spina bifida, recurring headaches, hydrocephalus, seizures, skull shape, cerebral palsy, movement disorders, concussion, minimally invasive neurosurgery and signs of child abuse.

UTHealth Medical School course directors are Dr. David Sandberg, associate professor, chief in the Division of Pediatric Neurosurgery and director of Pediatric Neurosurgery at Children’s Memorial Hermann and Mischer Neuroscience Institute at Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center; and Dr. Ian Butler, professor of pediatrics, director of the Division of Child & Adolescent Neurology and the Jacobo Geissler Distinguished Chair in West Syndrome Research.

UTHealth presenters include Dr. Gretchen Von Allmen, associate professor, director of the Pediatric Epilepsy Program and co-director of the Epilepsy Monitoring Unit at Children’s Memorial Hospital and Memorial Hermann-TMC; Dr. Rebecca Girardet, associate professor and director of the Division of Child Protection Pediatrics; Dr. Stephen Fletcher, associate professor in pediatric surgery; Dr. Jeremy Lankford, assistant professor of pediatric neurology; Dr. Manish Shah, assistant professor of pediatric neurosurgery; and Dr. Nivedita Thakur, assistant professor of pediatric neurology.