Dr. Arlo Weltge
Dr. Arlo Weltge

Dr. Arlo Weltge, clinical professor of emergency medicine, received the Young at Heart Award from members of Texas Medical Association’s (TMA’s) Young Physician Section. The award was presented during TMA’s annual conference in Austin.

The Young Physician Section, a group of TMA physicians under the age of 40 or in their first eight years of medical practice, chose Weltge for his commitment and willingness to help young physicians become tomorrow’s leaders in the association.

“This is a wonderful, kind, and very much appreciated recognition from the young physicians of TMA,” Weltge said. “There are days I worry about the future of our profession, but I know I need only look as far as our medical students and young physicians to feel confident. The talent, enthusiasm, and energy that is present in our emerging leaders will assure our profession for the future.

“Though it is shocking to me to realize I do not meet the qualifications of a ‘young physician’ anymore, it is also with a little relief,” Weltge added with a smile. “I am glad I do not have to compete with them because they are so talented and capable.”

“Dr. Weltge’s love of medicine shines through in all that he does,” said Dr. Gerad Troutman, chair-elect of the Young Physician Section. “But in addition to his clinical expertise and teaching proficiency, his infectious enthusiasm, welcoming spirit, and constant cheerleading have inspired so many and paved the way for future generations.”

A board-certified emergency physician for more than 30 years, Weltge practices emergency medicine at Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center and the Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital. Weltge has been active in organized medicine for many years. He is a longtime member of the TMA House of Delegates (the association’s governing body) and a consultant to TMA’s Council on Legislation. Currently, he chairs the TEXPAC (TMA’s political action committee) Committee on Membership and serves on its Executive Committee.

He has been speaker of the American College of Emergency Physicians and has served on its Board of Directors. Weltge also has served as president of the Texas College of Emergency Physicians. Weltge served on the Board of Directors of the Texas Alliance for Patient Access in 2002-04 during Texas’ medical liability reforms.

Weltge received his medical degree from UTHealth Medical School, and in 2013, received the Distinguished Alumnus Award. He completed his residency at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, and received his master’s in public health from The University of Texas School of Public Health.

The largest state medical society in the nation, TMA represents more than 48,000 physician and medical student members.

-Texas Medical Association