Dr. Pedro Mancias
Dr. Pedro Mancias

Dr. Pedro Mancias, associate professor of pediatric neurology, is the winner of the 2015 John P. McGovern Award as the exceptional clinical teacher. He also received this award in 2009 and 2013.

The John P. McGovern Award is given annually to the outstanding clinical faculty member as chosen by the senior class. The award is made possible by an endowment from the McGovern Foundation. Faculty may not win the award in consecutive years.

Mancias, who also is assistant dean for student affairs and admissions and diversity and inclusion, is a ’88 graduate of the Medical School.  He completed two years of pediatric residency at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences at Arkansas Children’s Hospital in Little Rock. He finished his pediatric neurology residency and fellowship in pediatric electromyography and neuromuscular disorders at McGovern Medical School.

“Being selected for this prestigious award is not taken for granted,” he said.  “I feel so fortunate to be in a position to help our school educate our students to be the best physicians they can be.”

Mancias joined the Medical School faculty in 1996 and lectures in the first-year neuroscience course, giving many of the clinical correlates, in addition to lecturing on abnormal development in the second-year developmental course, and in the third-year neurology clerkship.  He also attends on the pediatric neurology inpatient service, outpatient clinic, and performs EMG/nerve conduction studies.

He said his teaching philosophy is to make everything relevant to the students and to tie the experiences back to their basic science background. “I also tend to use a lot of actual patient stories since a story is easy to retell and remember,” he added.

Mancias received the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award, which is sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, in 2008; the John P. McGovern Outstanding Teaching Award in 2009, the Benjy F. Brooks Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award in 2009, and the Herbert and Margaret DuPont Master Clinical Teacher Award in 2001.

Previous recipients of the award include: Gabriel Aisenberg, M.D., 2014, 2012; Mancias, 2013, 2009; Eugene Toy, M.D., 2011, 2002; Octavio Pinell, M.D., 2010, 2008, 2006, 2004, 2001, 1999, 1997, 1995; Alberto Puig, M.D., Ph.D., 2007, 2005; Frank Arnett, M.D., 2003, 2000; Edward Yeomans, M.D., 1998; John F. Donnelly, M.D., 1996, 1993, 1990; James T. Willerson, M.D., 1994; John M. Passmore, M.D., 1992; and Herbert L. DuPont, M.D., 1991; Patricia Butler, M.D., 1985.

-Darla Brown, Office of Communications, Medical School