CCTS logoEach year, the National Institutes of Health-funded Center for Clinical and Translational Sciences (CCTS) grants KL2 and CCTS career development awards providing research funds and 75 percent protected time for up to three years for UTHealth fellows or faculty who have submitted the most meritorious proposals.

KL2 Scholar awards were recently awarded to  Elenir Avritscher, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor of pediatrics and a healthcare economist for her proposal, “Benefits and Cost Effectiveness of a Pediatric Hospitalist Service: A Stepped Wedge Quality Improvement Project,” and to John Harvin, M.D.,  assistant professor of surgery and a trauma surgeon for his proposal, “Damage Control Laparotomy: A Randomized Controlled Trial.”  Avritscher’s mentors are Eric Thomas, M.D., M.P.H.; Mike Swint, Ph.D.; and Eric Eichenwald, M.D. Harvin’s mentors are John Holcomb, M.D.; Bryan Cotton, M.D.; and Charles Wade, Ph.D.

Two CCTS Scholar Awards (supported by institutional matching funds) were awarded to Luba Yammine, Ph.D., in Family Health at the School of Nursing, whose project was titled “Exenatide Once Weekly for Smoking Cessation: A Randomized Clinical Trial” and to HuiMahn Choi, M.D., assistant professor of neurosurgery and a member of the Neurocritical Care Division, whose proposal was, “A Pilot, Parallel, Double-Blind, Randomized Trial of Galantamine for Subarachnoid Hemorrhage.  Yammine’s mentors are Thomas Newton, M.D.; Thomas Kosten, M.D.; Charles Green, Ph.D.; Janet Meininger, Ph.D.; and Paul Cinciripini, Ph.D.  Choi’s mentors are James Grotta, M.D.; Pramod Dash, Ph.D.; and Andrew Barreto, M.D.