ACC logoAcute myocardial infarction, valvular heart disease and congenital heart disease were among the topics experts from The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) presented during the American College of Cardiology (ACC) Scientific Sessions in Chicago, Illinois.

An exhibit of the evolving epidemiology of adult congenital heart disease, “Complete Transposition – 3D Echo and Anatomy,” was presented during the three-day conference by a team of cardiologists from McGovern Medical School at UTHealth in conjunction with renowned cardiac pathologist Saroja Bharati, M.D., of Advocate Children’s Hospital in Oak Lawn, Illinois.

McGovern Medical School faculty who participated in the sessions included David McPherson, M.D., chair of the Department of Internal Medicine and director of the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine; Tom C. Nguyen, M.D., assistant professor of cardiothoracic and vascular surgery and director of minimally invasive valve surgery; Poyee “Pansy” Tung, M.D., associate professor of cardiovascular medicine; and Dianna M. Milewicz, M.D., Ph.D., and President George H.W. Bush Chair, director of the Division of Medical Genetics and vice-chair of the Department of Internal Medicine.

Nguyen moderated sessions on valvular heart disease as well as patient selection and risks. Tung presented during an exhibit about acute myocardial infarction and Milewicz presented during a session on genetics and the bicuspid aortic valve.

Other McGovern Medical School presenters at the conference included Igor Gregoric, M.D., professor in the Advanced Heart Failure Program; Anthony Estrera, M.D., professor and chief of cardiothoracic surgery; K. Lance Gould, M.D., professor and Martin Bucksbaum Distinguished University Chair in Heart Disease; and Siddharth Prakash, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor of genetics; Prakash Balan, M.D., J.D., assistant professor of cardiovascular medicine; and Richard Smalling, M.D., Ph.D., director of interventional cardiovascular medicine and James D. Woods Distinguished Chair in cardiovascular medicine.