Photo by Dwight C. Andrews/ Office of Communications

Dr. Kevin Morano, Dr. Vasanthi Jayaraman, Dr. Joyce Samuel, Dr. Yang Xia, Dr. Gurur Biliciler-Denktas and Dr. Michelle Hebl, from left, are shown during the Women Faculty Forum May 9 at McGovern Medical School. Samuel and Xia, both introduced by Morano, were recognized with Excellence Awards during the forum. Samuel received the Rising Star Award, Xia received the Award of Excellence in Basic Science and Dr. Joy Schmitz (not in photo) was given the Clinical Award of Excellence. Hebl, a visiting professor from Rice University, was the featured speaker for the event.