Dean Barbara J. Stoll presents the award to Dr. Erin Furr Stimming.
Dean Barbara J. Stoll presents the award to Dr. Erin Furr Stimming.

Erin Furr Stimming, M.D., associate professor of neurology, is the recipient of the 2016 Herbert L. and Margaret W. DuPont Master Clinical Teaching Award.

Established in 2001 and made possible by a gift from the DuPonts, the award recognizes and preserves the essence and quality of the master clinical teacher, reflecting McGovern Medical School’s top priority of quality clinical medical education.

Furr Stimming said she was truly shocked, humbled, and honored to receive the award.

“I believe we are all students on this continual journey of learning,” she said. “As a clinician educator, I strive to teach the students to challenge their intellect and follow their passions while treating each patient with dignity and respect, remembering most importantly, that every patient is human.”

She said her favorite part of teaching is watching her students grow and mature. “I especially love interviewing applicants for med school; then interacting with them through master advisory groups, student interest groups, in class, on the wards, and finally watching as they walk across the stage at graduation. I feel so honored to be involved in their journey and hope to instill both medical knowledge and a special sense of humanism,” she said.

Furr Stimming received her medical degree from Finch University of Health Sciences, The Chicago Medical School. She completed her internship in internal medicine at McGovern Medical School, where she also completed her residency in neurology and her fellowship in movement disorders. Her clinical interests include Parkinson’s disease, Huntington’s disease and other neurodegenerative diseases such as progressive supranuclear palsy, cortical basal ganglia degeneration, and multiple system atrophy. She is the Director of the newly appointed Huntington’s Disease Society of America (HDSA) Center of Excellence at McGovern Medical School, UTHealth and  she is the Chief of Neurology at LBJ Hospital.

She counts among her mentors Drs. Schiess, Ferrendelli, Grotta, Wolinsky Savitz and Dyer.

“I am so grateful to receive this prestigious award from Dr. and Mrs. DuPont and accept it on behalf of all the clinician educators in the medical school,” Furr Stimming said. ” I am deeply appreciative and humbled to receive this award in the company of such distinguished and talented past recipients and am thankful to be part of an institution that celebrates and values education!”

Previous recipients of the DuPont award are Gabriel Aisenberg, M.D., 2015; Mark Hormann, M.D., 2014; Mark Farnie, M.D., 2013; John Foringer, M.D., 2012;  Pedro Mancias, M.D., 2011; Phil Johnson, M.D., 2010; Francisco Fuentes, M.D., 2009; Cheves Smythe, M.D., 2008; Eugene Toy, M.D., 2007; John Sparks, M.D., 2006; Victor Lavis, M.D., 2005; Philip Orlander, M.D., 2004; Ian Butler, M.D., 2003; Patrick Brosnan, M.D., 2002; and Frank Arnett, M.D., 2001.