Dean Barbara J. Stoll presents the award to Dr. Rukma Govindu.
Dean Barbara J. Stoll presents the award to Dr. Rukma Govindu.

Dr. Rukma Govindu, assistant professor of internal medicine, is the winner of the 2016 John P. McGovern Award as the exceptional clinical teacher.

The John P. McGovern Award is given annually to the outstanding clinical faculty member as chosen by the senior class. The award is made possible by an endowment from the McGovern Foundation.

Govindu, who joined the Division of General Medicine in September 2010, said he was thrilled to hear that he had received the award and also was surprised and honored.

“I encourage my students to keep things simple and learn the basics at the start and the complexities later on,” he said. “One can’t learn all in a lifetime. Learning is a journey, and it can be quite enjoyable.”

Govindu received his medical degree from Gandhi Medical College in Secunderabad AP/India and completed his residency in internal medicine at University of Alabama in Huntsville and Marshfield Clinic in Wisconsin.  He is board certified in internal medicine.

As an academic hospitalist, Govindu said he has medical students and residents every month on service at LBJ Hospital.

“I tell the students and residents to make the best use of the rotation by learning from the patients – our patients do us a great service,” he said. “As physicians, we should be honest and know our limitations. Caring for patients should be done in the best possible way.

“I would like to thank all of my colleagues, who are my inspiration,” he added.

Previous recipients of the award include: Pedro Mancias, M.D., 2015; Gabriel Aisenberg, M.D.2014, 2012; Mancias, 2013, 2009; Eugene Toy, M.D., 2011, 2002; Octavio Pinell, M.D., 2010, 2008, 2006, 2004, 2001, 1999, 1997, 1995; Alberto Puig, M.D., Ph.D., 2007, 2005; Frank Arnett, M.D., 2003, 2000; Edward Yeomans, M.D., 1998; John F. Donnelly, M.D., 1996, 1993, 1990; James T. Willerson, M.D., 1994; John M. Passmore, M.D., 1992; and Herbert L. DuPont, M.D., 1991; Patricia Butler, M.D., 1985.