Holger Eltzschig, M.D., Ph.D.
Holger Eltzschig, M.D., Ph.D.

Holger Eltzschig, M.D., Ph.D. has been named the first holder of a John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished Chair.

Established by the transformational $75 million John P. McGovern Foundation gift made to the school in 2015, 10 McGovern Endowed Chairs recognize distinguished scientists and/or physicians whose accomplishments and conduct exhibit the standards of excellence of the late Dr. John P. McGovern.

“It is our great pleasure to recognize Dr. Eltzschig as the holder of the first McGovern Distinguished Chair in recognition of his many accomplishments as well as his personal qualities that reflect the highest standards of excellence,” Dean Barbara J. Stoll said.

Eltzschig, professor of anesthesiology, interim chair of the Department of Anesthesiology, director of the new Perioperative Research Center, and associate vice president for Translational Research and Perioperative Programs, joined McGovern Medical School Sept. 1, 2016 from the University of Colorado School of Medicine. An internationally recognized physician-scientist, Eltzschig is ranked the “Number One” physician-scientist in the field of perioperative medicine. He also is the recipient of a prestigious UT System Faculty Translational STARs Award.

A native of Germany, Eltzschig received his medical degree from the Eberhard-Karls University and clinical training at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, where he completed a surgical internship, anesthesiology residency, and fellowship in cardiac anesthesia and intraoperative transesophageal echocardiography. He pursued a research fellowship on basic mechanisms of hypoxia-elicited changes in gene expression and function at Harvard Medical School. His work there established the basis of his numerous translational studies related to perioperative organ injury and protection.

Eltzschig’s research involves basic, translational, and clinical studies focused on many aspects of perioperative organ protection. He has a remarkable history of extramural grant funding– continuous funding from the National Institutes of Health with 3-6 concurrent R01 grants (or their equivalents) since moving to the United States in 2007. At the same time, he continues to be an active clinician working in the operating room.