Dr. Kenneth Moise
Dr. Kenneth Moise

The Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences has been cited as having one of the most outstanding papers published in Obstetrics & Gynecology in 2016.

Kenneth Moise, M.D., professor of obstetrics, gynecology and reproductive sciences, is the first author of the paper recognized with a 2016 Roy M. Pitkin Award.

The Roy M. Pitkin Awards were established in 1998 “to honor departments of obstetrics and gynecology that promote and demonstrate excellence in research.” The awards are granted by the editors of Obstetrics & Gynecology who select the top articles that have been published within the past year in the journal.

The winning article from the McGovern Medical School Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences is “Circulating Cell-Free DNA to Determine the Fetal RHD Status in All Three Trimesters of Pregnancy.” Published in the December 2016 issue of Obstetrics & Gynecology the authors are Moise, Gandhi M, Boring N, OʼShaughnessy R, Simpson LL, Wolfe HM, Baxter JK, Polzin W, Eddleman KA, Hassan SS, Skupski DW, Ryan G, Walker M, Lam G, Brown R, Skoll MA, Robinson C, Sheikh A, Bronsteen R, Plante LA, McLennan G, Chikova A, Paladino T.

“This work was probably the most illustrative in my career regarding the need for persistence in a research endeavor,” Moise said.  “The company I was working with elected to change their research initiatives once all the samples had been collected.  It was not until 5 years later that these were finally analyzed to allow us to complete the data analysis.

“The credit goes to Noemi Boring (our researcher in our Fetal Center) who worked with me at Baylor during the trial to keep up with all of the 18 sites and the clinical outcomes.”

Finalists for the prize were reviewed and judged by a panel of former Editorial Board members on scientific merit, methodology, presentation of results, soundness of conclusions, writing style, and importance to the specialty. The award comes with a $5,000 unrestricted grant to the department.

The three other medical school department winners of the Pitkin Award include Kaiser Permanente, Mayo Clinic, and University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine.

The award is named in honor of Dr. Roy M. Pitkin, professor emeritus of obstetrics and gynecology at the University of California at Los Angeles, and the department’s former chair.