A record number of MSII students displayed posters Nov. 9 summarizing their scholarly work conducted as participants in the Summer Research Program.

Dr. Gary Rosenfeld and Linh Trinh coordinated the event which included opening remarks by Dean Barbara Stoll.  Thirty-eight of the students competed for the Webber Prizes named and endowed in honor of C. Frank Webber, an early dean of the medical school.

Based on review by faculty judges, the winners of the C. Frank Webber Prizes were:

  • First Place – Crystal Nwannunu (Donald A. Molony; Stephen Tyring; Internal Medicine – Dermatology; Dermatological Disorders in ESRD Patients: Effect on Quality of Life)
  • Tied for Second Place – Nayana Ramachandra (Charles E. Wade; Surgery – CeTIR; Impact of Smoking on Trauma Patients Expected to Receive Massive
    Blood Transfusion); and Tolulope Obafemi (Tien Ko / Yanna Cao; Surgery; Comparable Responses in Male and Female to Cerulein-Induced Pancreatic Injury and Recovery)
  • Third Place – Carlos Flores (Absalon Gutierrez; Internal Medicine – Endocrinology; The Association of Adipocytokines with Insulin Resistance, Inflammation and Atherosclerosis in a Mexican-American Border Population)

These students received ribbons at the event, and will also be special guests at a luncheon to be held in their honor, along with their faculty mentors; as well as a plaque, and monetary award.