Dr. Hazim Safi

Safi to give esteemed John Homans Lecture

Dr. Hazim J. Safi, professor and chair of the Department of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery at the McGovern Medical School at UTHealth, joins a distinguished list of colleagues in his field selected with the rare distinction of giving the John Homans Lecture at the 2018 Society of Vascular Surgery (SVS) Annual Meeting. Safi will present the lecture on the final day of the event, held June 21 to 23 in Boston.

Dr. Tom Nguyen

Nguyen wins American College of Cardiology Award

The American College of Cardiology (ACC) honored Dr. Tom Nguyen, associate professor of cardiothoracic surgery and director of minimally invasive valve surgery in the Department of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery, and two other colleagues with first place in the ACC 2017 Section Awards for their Transcatheter Heart Valve Handbook.

Zhiqiang An, Ph.D. (PHOTO CREDIT Maricruz Kwon, UTHealth)

McGovern Medical School awarded grants for joint study with UT Health San Antonio

Scientists at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) and The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UT Health San Antonio) received $6 million in grants from the U.S. Department of Defense to expand studies of a therapeutic antibody, the two UT health institutions announced last month.

Strobel receives AAMC honor

Dr. Henry Strobel, professor emeritus of biochemistry and molecular biology, is the recipient of the 2017 Carole J. Bland Phronesis Award by the Group on Faculty Affairs (GFA), which is a constituent group of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC).