Netanya Utay, M.D. Utay receives Campbell Foundation grant

The Campbell Foundation named Netanya Utay, M.D., assistant professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, as the recipient of a $75,000 grant to study the role lymph node fibrosis may play in HIV eradication.

K. Lance Gould, M.D. Perspectives: K. Lance Gould, Ph.D.

Perspectives is an ongoing series of Q&A’s with longtime faculty and staff at McGovern Medical School to give readers a glimpse into how the campus has changed over the years the impact the school has had on their professional lives. This week’s edition of Perspectives features K. Lance Gould, Ph.D., professor of cardiovascular medicine in the Department of Internal Medicine.

McGovern Medical School bids farewell to cyclotron

An influential piece of McGovern Medical School history has begun leaving campus piece by piece this week, as the remaining parts of the cyclotron unit will finally be decommissioned more than 17 years after the facility flooded during Tropical Storm Allison.

Welch gets new lease on life with help from specialists

Cory Welch, senior audio-visual specialist in conference operations at McGovern Medical School, appreciates his second chance at life.

David Wang Society of Teachers of Family Medicine names Wang Student Scholar

The Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM) selected a fourth-year medical student at McGovern Medical School as a recipient of a Student Scholar award in September, recognizing him for his research and potential for a career in academic medicine.

CallieKwartler Kwartler wins Proteintech 2018 Best Postdoctoral Mentor Award

A postdoctoral fellow at McGovern Medical School has been named Proteintech’s 2018 Best Mentor in the Postdoctoral category, taking the top prize ahead of hundreds of entries from around the world.

NIHGrantMSTP NIH awards prestigious grant to UTHealth program

The National Institute of Health awarded UTHealth a prestigious multiyear Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) grant, as four students from McGovern Medical School embark on a rigorous seven-year program to earn both a medical degree and a doctoral degree.

Serena Auñón-Chancellor, MD McGovern Medical School to host conversation from space with Dr. Auñón-Chancellor

Want to have a chance to talk directly to an astronaut live from space? McGovern Medical School will offer a once-in-a-lifetime experience next month as alum and astronaut Serena Auñón-Chancellor, MD, takes part in a live Q&A from the school’s third floor lecture hall.

AriasLabElBosque2017 Colombian girl gets fighting chance with global help from medical teams

It has been a team effort to ensure a 12-year-old Colombian girl has the best chance to fight back against a rare immune disorder system, with infectious disease specialists like Dr. Cesar Arias, professor of infectious disease in the Department of Internal Medicine at McGovern Medical School, extending large helping hands.

PhysicalsFilePhoto Schedule sports physicals in preparation for fall sports

Does your child dream of making the team next year at school? While the fall semester is months away, now’s the time to schedule a sports physical, according to experts at McGovern Medical School.