Richard Smalling, M.D., Ph.D., holding device used to close a patient's patent foramen ovale. UTHealth physicians give track star new lease on life with PFO closure procedure

At a track meet in 2011, then 17-year-old Crystal Haynes was warming up for a high jump event when her leg and arm gave out and her world went black. She woke up shortly after and couldn’t speak – she was having a stroke.

Rios honored with awards in Republic of Panama

The Republic of Panama awarded Dr. Adan Rios, associate professor in the Division of Oncology, with one of its highest national honors in August, praising the clinician-scientist for his work in the fight against HIV/AIDS.