alentin-2.jpg-Web Dragoi earns third NIH BRAIN award

Working to further the understanding of how the brain processes information, Valentin Dragoi, Ph.D., professor of neurobiology and anatomy with McGovern Medical School, has been awarded a three-year, $1.6 million award from the National Institutes of Health’s Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies® (BRAIN) Initiative.

Cryo-electron research published in PLOS Biology

Two McGovern Medical School faculty members contributed to research now published in the Public Library of Science (PLOS) Biology Journal, as part of a first-authored paper written by UTHealth Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences alumna Tara Fischer, Ph.D.

Terry J. Crow, Ph.D., Scholarship in Neuroscience (web) Debes named inaugural recipient of Terry J. Crow, Ph.D., Scholarship in Neuroscience

Samantha Debes, a doctoral student in the laboratory of Valentin Dragoi, Ph.D., in the Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy, has been named the inaugural recipient of the Terry J. Crow, Ph.D. Scholarship in Neuroscience.

Dr. John Byrne Byrne scores ‘hat trick’ with research

As soccer fans around the world are focused on the World Cup, here at McGovern Medical School, one of our own star researchers has scored more than a goal – a hat trick.

Dr. Cameron Jeter Tablet-based tasks show promise as training tools for individuals with ASD: Study

While individuals with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) may find social interactions challenging, promising research by Dr. Anne Sereno, former professor of neuroscience in the Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy, and Megan Kirchgessner, former visiting student, shows that a series of tablet-based tasks and games may be suitable methods of early intervention in children with ASD.

Dr. John Byrne Leadership changes for the Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy

Following 30 years of service, Dr. Jack Byrne has announced he is stepping down as chair of the Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy. Byrne joined McGovern Medical School in 1982 as an associate professor with the Department of Physiology and Cell Biology and member of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, and his three decades as chair makes him the longest serving current chair at McGovern Medical School.

Faculty members recognized by UT System for teaching excellence

The University of Texas System Board of Regents honored a group of McGovern Medical School educators for their excellence with Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards earlier this month.

Congressional Recognition for Public Forum Congressional Recognition for Public Forum

Photo by Dwight C. Andrews/Office of Communications Julian Rhyne, assistant to Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee, presents a Congressional Resolution recognizing the 22nd Neuroscience Research Center Public Forum to Dr. John Byrne, chair of the Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy, at the NRC Brain Awareness Week Public Forum Saturday, March 25.