Jorge D. Salazar, MD

Salazar named McGovern Distinguished Chair

An accomplished investigator involved in numerous clinical trials evaluating novel therapies to treat the most complex congenital heart defects has been appointed holder of the John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished Chair.

Dr. Samuel D. Luber and Dr. Samuel J. Prater

Co-interim chairs named for emergency medicine

Dean Barbara J. Stoll has announced that Samuel D. Luber, M.D., MPH, associate professor of emergency medicine, and Samuel J. Prater, M.D., assistant professor of emergency medicine, will serve as interim co-chairs of the Department of Emergency Medicine, effective March 16, 2018.

Vineeth John, M.D.

Vineeth John rejoins Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences

Vineeth P. John, M.D., has rejoined the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at McGovern Medical School as the vice-chair of Education, director of the Geriatric Psychiatry section and director of the Geriatric Psychiatry Unit at the UTHealth Harris County Psychiatric Center.

Dr. John Byrne

Leadership changes for the Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy

Following 30 years of service, Dr. Jack Byrne has announced he is stepping down as chair of the Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy. Byrne joined McGovern Medical School in 1982 as an associate professor with the Department of Physiology and Cell Biology and member of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, and his three decades as chair makes him the longest serving current chair at McGovern Medical School.

Miller to lead clinical research, health care quality for UTHealth

Charles “Trey” C. Miller, Ph.D., a health care leader with more than 25 years of experience in clinical epidemiology and clinical research, has been named associate vice president for clinical research and health care quality at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth).