Chassay, Domino to be honored as distinguished alumni

Two outstanding alumni of McGovern Medical School will be honored at a special event Friday Oct. 19 at Third Coast.

Dr. Louis K. Wagner American Association of Physicists in Medicine honors Wagner with achievement award

The American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) selected Dr. Louis K. Wagner, staff scientist in the Department of Radiology at McGovern Medical School, as the recipient of the Marvin M.D. Williams Professional Achievement Award for his career in medical physics.

Gus Krucke Outstanding Teacher Award with Dean Stoll John P. McGovern Award – Gus Krucke, MD

Dr. Gus W. Krucke, associate professor of General Internal Medicine, is the winner of the 2018 John P. McGovern Award as the exceptional clinical teacher, a distinction shared this year with Dr. Duraisamy Balaguru, associate professor in the Department of Pediatrics.

Jorge D. Salazar, MD Salazar named McGovern Distinguished Chair

An accomplished investigator involved in numerous clinical trials evaluating novel therapies to treat the most complex congenital heart defects has been appointed holder of the John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished Chair.

Dean Barbara J. Stoll University of Iowa honors Dean Stoll

Dean Barbara J. Stoll is the 2017 recipient of the Frank H. Morriss, Jr. Leadership Award from the University of Iowa School of Medicine.

Findley Jonathan Chase Herbert L. and Margaret W. DuPont Master Clinical Teaching Award: J. Chase Findley, M.D.

J. Chase Findley, M.D., associate professor and director of medical student education in the Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, is the recipient of the 2018 Herbert L. and Margaret W. DuPont Master Clinical Teaching Award.

Sasha Adams Benjy F. Brooks, M.D., Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award: Sasha D. Adams, M.D.

Sasha D. Adams, M.D., assistant professor in the Department of Surgery, is this year’s recipient of the Benjy F. Brooks, M.D., Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award.

Dean’s Teaching Excellence Awards

Congratulations to this year’s winners of the Dean’s Teaching Excellence Awards! May is designated as teaching excellence month for McGovern Medical School and all winners of teaching awards will be honored May 15 in the Fifth Floor Gallery.

Dr. Fuki Hisama presents the 2018 Pruzansky Lectureship Award in Genetics to Dr. Hope Northrup at the 49th Annual March of Dimes Clinical Genetics Conference. Northrup presents Pruzansky Lecture at March of Dimes Clinical Genetics Conference

Dr. Hope Northrup, professor and director of the division of medical genetics in the Department of Pediatrics at McGovern Medical School, said presenting the Samuel Pruzansky Memorial Lecture at the 49th Annual March of Dimes Clinical Genetics Conference was something she “couldn’t have imagined in her wildest dreams.”

Dr. Tom Nguyen Nguyen wins American College of Cardiology Award

The American College of Cardiology (ACC) honored Dr. Tom Nguyen, associate professor of cardiothoracic surgery and director of minimally invasive valve surgery in the Department of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery, and two other colleagues with first place in the ACC 2017 Section Awards for their Transcatheter Heart Valve Handbook.