Department of Otorhinolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery

McGovern Medical School

Save the Date! Lone Star Rhinology and Rhinoplasty Course Scheduled for November

The Department of Otorhinolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery at UTHealth’s McGovern Medical School is proud to sponsor 2017 Lone Star Rhinology and Rhinoplasty, a four-day CME meeting in Houston, TX. The course will feature two consecutive two-day CME events from Friday, November 3, 2017 through Monday, November 6, 2017.

The rhinology course, a comprehensive medical education program dedicated to the study of issues in nasal and sinus disorders, will be held during the first two days, and will include a day and a half of lectures and a half-day dissection lab. The rhinoplasty course will follow on November 5-6 with the same lecture and lab format, providing a complementary course on contemporary principles of functional and aesthetic rhinoplasty.

Guests of honor at the rhinology course agenda include:

  • Pete S. Batra, MD (Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, IL)
  • Ralph Metson, MD (Massachusetts Eye & Ear Infirmary/Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA)

Guests of honor at the rhinoplasty course include

  • Ira Papel, MD (The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD)
  • Jonathan Sykes, MD (The University of California-Davis Medical Center, Sacramento, CA)

The rhinology course directors are Martin J. Citardi, MD, Amber Luong, MD, and William Yao, MD, from McGovern Medical School. Invited faculty include Mohamad Chaaban, MD, University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston; Philip Chen, MD, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; Seth Isaacs, MD, TriHealth in Cincinnati, OH; Kent Lam, MD, Eastern Virginia Medical School in Norfolk, VA; Li-Xing Man, MD, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry in Rochester, NY; Michael Marino, MD, Mayo Clinic Arizona in Scottsdale, AZ; Drew Plonk, MD, Wake Forest Baptist Health in Winston-Salem, NC. and Alok Saini, MD, McGovern Medical School at UTHealth.   Ashleigh Halderman, MD, Bradley Marple, MD and Matthew Ryan, MD, all from the University of Texas Southwestern, in Dallas, TX, serve on the planning committee.

The rhinoplasty course director is Russell Kridel, MD from the McGovern Medical School at UTHealth. The planning committee consistes of Christian Conderman, MD; Tang Ho, MD (also from the McGovern Medical School) and Angela Sturm, MD.

For more information, about the meeting, please visit

Quick links
Lone Star Rhinology & Rhinoplasty
Rhinology program
Rhinoplasty program


Subscribe to our newsletters

ORL Update UT ORL Update, our first on-line departmental newsletter, summarizes current topics in otorhinolaryngology. The newsletter’s target audience includes both physicians and other healthcare providers, although subscriptions are not limited to members of these groups.

ORL Notes ORL Notes, our second on-line departmental newsletter, provides information about developments in the Department. The newsletter’s target audience includes physicians and healthcare professionals as well as patients and members of the general public.

To subscribe, please fill in your contact information and select the newsletter(s) you would like to receive. Of course, you may opt out of any of the newsletters at any time.