We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 First Annual Research Poster Exhibition:

1st Place and People’s Choice Award:   Dustin Morado - Poster Exhibition

Dustin Reed Morado

“Cluster to Structure: Utilizing high-performance computing to achieve high-throughput and high-resolution in situ structures by electron cryotomography”


Utilizing recent funding, we have begun implementing a local high-performance computing cluster to process subtomogram averaging experiments. Employment of this system allows for maximum parallelization and storage capacity needed for handling the massive amount of cryo-ET data collected.  The goal of this system is to maximize the bene ts provided by the recent technical advancements in image collection in order to push the resolution boundaries of in situ structural determination by cryo-ET in coordination with our current in-house software pipeline.

2nd Place:

Sadia SultanaSadia Sultana

“Morphoproteomics Identifies the EZH2 and Sirt1 as Potential Pathology Pathways in Blastemal Wilms Tumor and Provides Therapeutic Options:  A Case Study.”

3rd Place:

Madeline Farley - Poster ExhibitionMadeline Farley

“Bacteriophage Infection of Gram-positive Bacterium”


Recent advances in cryo-electron tomography (cryo-ET) and the ability to isolate bacterial minicells have allowed direct visualization of the initial interactions between bacteriophages and their host bacteria.  Thus far, studies have been limited to Gram-negative bacteria but the mechanism of infection of Gram-positive bacteria is unknown.  Of particular interest is how phages penetrate the thick and highly cross-linked peptidoglycan layer of the Gram-positive cell wall.  Here we detail the structural intermediates of phage Φ29 during infection of the Gram-positive Bacillus subtilis.  Minicells were generated from B. subtilis, infected with Φ29, and cryo-ET was then employed to study adsorption and the initial stages of infection.  This work was supported by grants from the NIGMS (GM110243) and the Welch Foundation (AU-1714).

To all the participants, it was a great success and we look forward to your poster submissions next year.  Keep up the great work!

Thank you to Dr. Diane Bick, Dr. Keri Smith, Dr. Sudhir Paul, Dr. Shen-An Hwang, Dr. Robert L. Hunter, Dr. Priya Weerasinghe, Dr. Steven Norris and Dr. Jeffrey Actor for taking time out of their busy schedules to judge all the poster submissions.