Diversity and Inclusion

We are committed to an institutional culture that fosters the recruitment, nurturing and retention of a diverse student body, trainees, staff and faculty that is reflective of the community we serve.

Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine’s Committee for Diversity and Inclusion


Our mission is to reflect the scope and policy of McGovern Medical School on Diversity and Inclusion, as stated, and to ensure that the goals and objectives of the school are exemplified in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine by:

  1. Committing to foster a diverse, culturally rich and inclusive educational environment where opportunities for collaboration and innovation are limitless.
  2. Cultivating a workforce that is equipped to meet the evolving healthcare needs of all people in our community and beyond
  3. Engaging in and supporting activities designed to enhance, maintain and retain a diverse and inclusive student body, residents, faculty and staff.

Message from Vice Chair


Dr. Jamie Everett, Asst Professor of Pathology-Clinical.

Welcome colleagues!  It is my honor to serve as the Vice Chair of Diversity and Inclusion for the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine. Our department consists of an outstanding and uniquely diverse assembly of faculty, staff, and trainees that I am proud and excited to lead in this effort to foster growth in our collective appreciation, understanding, and support of diversity, equity, and inclusion. We, my wonderful colleagues of the Departmental Committee for Diversity and Inclusion and I, sincerely wish to support the Department’s continued commitment to uphold the medical school’s mission of fostering a diverse, culturally rich, and inclusive educational environment through intentional and organized collective efforts.  I whole-heartedly believe that through the joint labors of leadership, faculty, staff, and trainees, we can provide a richer academic environment, with boundless collaboration and ingenuity.

I welcome any suggestions, and encourage your participation in the bimonthly meetings of the Department’s Committee for Diversity and Inclusion.


GME Diversity Flyer

McGovern Medical School Office of Diversity and Inclusion


Library of Congress: List, commentary, and resources for selected national observances and commemorative months


Project implicit: Resource for implicit bias assessment through quizzes


Internal resources

Diversity and inclusion- educational folder

N:\\uthsch-nas\pathology\Diversity and Inclusion Committee\Educational resources

Committee members

Tiffany Allen

Outreach Laboratory Technician

Joshua Baalwa, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor

Medical Director for Clinical Pathology for LBJ Hospital

Meenakshi B. Bhattacharjee, MBBS, MD, FRCPath, FCAP

Professor, Director of Neuropathology

Maximilian Buja, MD

Professor, Distinguished Teaching Professor

Director of Cardiovascular Pathology

Jamie Buryanek, MD

Assistant Professor 

Violeta Chavez, PhD

Assistant Professor of Clinical Pathology 

Shaimaa Elzamly, MD

AP/CP Resident, PGY-2

Xavier Rivera Rivera, MD

AP/CP Resident, PGY-2

Jaiyeola Thomas-Ogunniyi, MBBS, FRCPath, FWACP, FMCPath

Interim Chair

Professor, Vice Chair of Anatomic Pathology

Margaret Uthman, MD

Professor & Vice Chair for Education

Associate Dean for Educational Programs

Contact Us

Chante´ Bradley (Shanequa.C.Bradley@uth.tmc.edu)

Administrative coordinator

Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

(713) 500-5389

Jamie Everett, MD

Departmental Vice Chair for Diversity and Inclusion
Assistant Professor of Pathology
Director of Gastrointestinal and Liver Pathology