Four earn Women’s Faculty Forum Excellence Awards

By Roman Petrowski, Office of Communications
November 19, 2020

Women's Faculty Forum Excellence Awards

The Women’s Faculty Forum (WFF) will present the 2020 Excellence Awards to four McGovern Medical School faculty members at a virtual presentation from 4:30-6 p.m., Dec. 2, via WebEx. The event code to join the presentation is 120 199 5152, or click here.

The winner of the Excellence in Research award is Danielle Garsin, PhD, professor in the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, while Hope Northrup, MD, professor in the Department of Pediatrics, and director of the Division of Medical Genetics, won the Excellence in Clinical Science award. Jun Wang, PhD, assistant professor of pediatrics and Amanda Jagolino-Cole, MD, assistant professor in the Department of Neurology, and co-director of the Vascular Neurology Fellowship Program, each earned Rising Star awards.

The WFF Excellence Awards recognize outstanding contributions made by women faculty at McGovern Medical School in education, research, and/or clinical service. Winners are evaluated based on student and peer evaluations and the use of innovation and development of teaching tools and courses as well as published works in teaching and mentoring activities.

Recipients are also judged on productivity in research with a focus on peer recognition, innovation, and the ability to have work published and to bring in competitive external grants. Clinically, the winners hold local, national, and international recognition and display leadership in medicine while showcasing outstanding contributions to patient care and promoting clinical knowledge.

The Women’s Faculty Forum was established to provide advocacy on behalf of the women faculty at McGovern Medical School and to provide networking and professional development opportunities. The organization recognizes and supports women through its annual awards program, career development offerings, and educations events.

Share content
Related topics