John P. McGovern Award – J. Chase Findley, MD

June 6, 2019

Dr. Findley Teaching Excellence Award 2019

J. Chase Findley, MD, received the John P. McGovern Award as the exceptional clinical teacher.

J. Chase Findley, MD, assistant professor and director of medical student education in the Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, is the recipient of the 2019 John P. McGovern Award as the exceptional clinical teacher.

The John P. McGovern Award is given annually to the outstanding clinical faculty member as chosen by the senior class. The award is made possible by an endowment from the McGovern Foundation. Faculty may not win the award in consecutive years.

Findley said he was surprised and honored by the award, because the graduating medical school class selected it and said he felt gratified by having a positive influence on their medical school experience.

“This award is particularly meaningful to me, because it was student-selected,” Findley said. “I have truly enjoyed working with the Class of 2019 over the past four years, and it has been a great honor to play a role in their development into outstanding physicians.”

Findley’s approach to teaching emphasizes that everyone is continuously learning in medicine, and that doctors provide the best care to patients when they work together as a supportive team.

“I try my best to create both a safe and challenging learning environment, where students are given the opportunity to improve their self-confidence and autonomy without fear of making mistakes or lacking knowledge,” Findley said.

Findley completed medical school and psychiatry residency at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio before arriving at McGovern Medical School in 2013. Prior to his time in the UTHealth system, Findley graduated from Amarillo College in 2003 with an associate of science degree in biology, followed by a bachelor of arts in interdisciplinary studies from the University of Texas at Dallas in 2005.

His clinical interest is in the treatment of patients with severe mental illnesses, including mood disorders and schizophrenia, in an inpatient hospital setting. Findley is the psychiatry faculty adviser for the Student Interest Group in Neurology and Psychiatry and is an attending physician at the UTHealth Harris County Psychiatric Center.

Findley said he was thankful to Dr. Patricia Butler, Dr. Jair Soares, and Dr. Melissa Allen for providing him with tremendous administrative support and allowing great flexibility to pursue his educational goals.

Previous recipients of the award include: Gus Krucke, MD, 2018; Jennifer Swails, MD, 2017; Rukma Govindu, MD, 2016; Pedro Mancias, MD, 2015; Gabriel Aisenberg, MD, 2014, 2012; Mancias, 2013, 2009; Eugene Toy, MD, 2011, 2002; Octavio Pinell, MD, 2010, 2008, 2006, 2004, 2001, 1999, 1997, 1995; Alberto Puig, MD, PhD, 2007, 2005; Frank Arnett, MD, 2003, 2000; Edward Yeomans, MD, 1998; John F. Donnelly, MD, 1996, 1993, 1990; James T. Willerson, MD, 1994; John M. Passmore, MD, 1992; and Herbert L. DuPont, MD, 1991; Patricia Butler, MD, 1985.

Written by: Roman Petrowski, Office of Communications