Excellence in Nursing Award LogoA group of dedicated nurses with the UTHealth Harris County Psychiatric Center (HCPC), the teaching hospital of McGovern Medical School, will be honored at the upcoming 14th Annual Excellence in Nursing Awards Luncheon presented by The Good Samaritan Foundation.

This year’s luncheon will begin noon on Wednesday, Sept. 5 at The Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston (2222 West Loop South) and will recognize outstanding nurses in education and clinical practice in Houston and surrounding communities. Three nurses from HCPC have been named Bronze Medalists and include Eric Bell, RNChristopher Chua, BSN; and Consuelo Puga, BSN, RN.

Dr. Lorraine Frazier, John P. McGovern Distinguished Professor and dean of the Cizik School of Nursing, will be serving as this year’s chair and called the long list of award winners “remarkable men and women.” The Good Samaritan’s Excellence in Nursing luncheon is one of the largest programs dedicated to recognizing those actively working in the nursing profession, and the Good Samaritan Foundation received 296 nominations from hospitals, clinics, colleges, and universities.

“The Excellence in Nursing Awards honor registered nurses and educators who are nominated by their peers and selected by a distinguished Awards Selection Committee,” Frazier said in an announcement. “These nurses demonstrate a passion for the nursing profession and exemplify excellence in teaching, mentoring, leadership and service.”

The Good Samaritan Foundation is the largest private grantor of scholarships to Texas nursing students. Its programs include scholarships, grants to nursing schools for faculty development and special programs, support of preceptor and mentor programs, and recognition of nurses. For more information, visit the Foundation’s website here.