lallyCongratulations are due to Dr. Kevin P. Lally, longtime faculty member in the Department and Chair of the McGovern Medical School Department of Pediatric Surgery, for being named the Distinguished Houston Surgeon for 2014.  This award, administered by the Houston Surgical Society, recognizes Dr. Lally’s major contributions to surgery both in our community and, through his work on congenital diaphragmatic hernia, the world at large.

Past recipients of the award from our Department include Dr. Kamal Khalil, Dr. Richard Andrassy, Dr. Frank Moody, and Dr. James “Red” Duke.  The illustrious list of prior awardees is included below:

1974  Paul R. Harrington, M.D.
1975  Raymond O. Brauer, M.D.
1976  James Greenwood Jr., M.D.
1977  Thomas D. Cronin, M.D.
1978  Denton A. Cooley, M.D.
1979  J. Peyton Barnes, M.D.
1980  R. Lee Clark, M.D.
1981  John C. Kennedy, M.D.
1983  Elvin Shelton Jr., M.D.
1984  Edward Smith, M.D.
1985  Michael E. DeBakey, M.D.
1986  George Jordan Jr., M.D.
1987  S. Baron Hardy, M.D.
1988  Presley Chalmers, M.D.
1989  Paul Jordan Jr., M.D.
1990  Richard G. Martin, M.D.
1991  Luke Able, M.D.
1992  James Duke Jr., M.D.
1993  Alando Ballantyne, M.D.
1994  Jack B. Fitzgerald, M.D.
1995  Frank Moody, M.D.
1996  Melvin Spira, M.D.
1997  Arthur Beall Jr., M.D.
1999  John Overstreet, M.D.
2000  Charles McCollum, M.D.
2001  Kenneth Mattox, M.D.
2002  Fred B. Kessler, M.D.
2003  Gene Guinn, M.D.
2004  Michael Appel, M.D.
2005  O. H. Frazier, M.D.
2006  Richard Andrassy, M.D.
2007  Lee Tuttle, M.D.
2008  Kamal Khalil, M.D.
2009  Donald Butts, M.D.
2010  George P. Noon, M.D.
2011  H. Randolph Bailey, M.D.
2012  Wade R. Rosenberg, M.D.
2013  Creighton L. Edwards, M.D.