Nine faculty were promoted as of September 1, 2018. Congratulations to all of the faculty who were recognized at the Promoted and Tenured Faculty Dinner, on September 13:

Name Promotion Division
Brijesh Gill, MD Professor LBJGH Surgery
Steven Canfield, MD Professor Urology
Shinil Shah, DO Associate Professor MIST
Daniel Freet, MD Associate Professor Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
Sasha Adams, MD Associate Professor Acute Care Surgery
John Harvin, MD, MS Associate Professor Acute Care Surgery
Todd Huzar, MD Associate Professor Acute Care Surgery
Erin Fox, PhD Associate Professor Acute Care Surgery/ CeTIR
Tonya George, PhD Assistant Professor Acute Care Surgery


Center for Translational Injury Research (CeTIR) investigator, Stacy Drake, PhD, MPH, RN, AFN-BC, D-ABMDI, recently received the 2018 Ann Burgess Forensic Nursing Research award from the International Association of Forensic Nursing. This award honors an individual who has made exceptional research contributions to the field of Forensic Nursing. Dr. Drake received the award for her scientific achievement in research, including her research in preventable trauma mortality.

Dr. John Holcomb was recently honored (July 18) with a permanent plaque at the US Army Institute for Surgical Research in San Antonio and the 70th Anniversary of the US Army Burn Center for his contribution to the care of wounded military personnel.

Dr. Sasha Adams was chosen as one of two winners of the 2018 Women Faculty Forum Excellence Awards in the Rising Star category. She was also selected as the recipient of the 2018 Benjy F. Brooks, MD, Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award.