UT Shine Academy Small Grants Program

Dr. Steven Canfield, MD, Distinguished Chair and Chief of the Division of Urology at McGovern Medical school and colleagues have recently been awarded a grant through the Health Science Education Small Grants Program by the University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine, MD, Academy of Health Science Education for their work in developing a novel procedure/surgical assessment model. Using the myTIPreport platform, they have developed a model that is procedure-specific, short, electronic, user-friendly and stepwise to give trainees and educators immediate feedback and assess progression. Starting with urology, they hope to translate this model to any procedure learning regardless of specialty or technical difficulty. Collaborators include Dr. Phillip Mann, DO (PGY3 Urology), Dr. Ly Hoang, MD (former UT urology grad, FPRMS fellow, Beaumont Hospital, MI), Dr. Leonardo Borregales, MD (PGY5 Urology), Skyler Howell (MS4) and Dr. Justin Gregg, MD (Assistant Professor, UT MD Anderson).

SurgeON – Winter / Spring 2021