Benjy F. Brooks, MD, Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award: Manish N. Shah, MD, FAANS

May 21, 2020

Manish N. Shah, MD, FAANS, assistant professor of pediatric neurosurgery, is the 2020 recipient of the Benjy F. Brooks, MD, Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award.

“I was surprised and thrilled to receive this award,” Shah said. “Who knew one could get an award for such an intrinsically rewarding and fun activity like teaching?”

Established in 1991 by the Alumni Association, the Benjy Brooks award is presented by the McGovern’s Student Surgical Association to recognize individuals “who complement and enhance the education program by serving as role models for students.” It is named in honor of Dr. Benjy Brooks, the first board-certified woman pediatric surgeon in the United States, who joined McGovern Medical School’s faculty in 1973 and remained active in the life of the Medical School until her death in 1998. Read more