Senators are elected to a 3-year term in office by faculty in their departments, and each Senate session runs from September 1 to August 31. Elections are run by the Faculty Senate’s Executive Committee, and Senators may serve two full consecutive terms. Additional restrictions apply as laid out in the School of Medicine bylaws.