IBP Awards & Announcements

February 22, 2024

We are pleased to announce some of the recent achievements of our outstanding faculty, postdocs, and students.


Anna Atamanchuk

Anna Atamanchuk, PhD, (Dr. Oleh Pochynyuk’s Lab) is the recipient of a two-year postdoctoral fellowship through the American Heart Association for her project, “Epac1 and Epac2 complementary regulate water homeostasis in the sex-dependent manner”.


Chrystine Gallegos

Chrystine Gallegos, GSBS student in Dr. Carmen Dessauer’s lab, is a recipient of the 2024 Dr. John J. Kopchick Fellowship for her project, “Effects of satellite glial cell stimulation and signaling on DRG nociceptors”.


Mo-Fan Elena Huang

Mo-Fan (Elena) Huang, GSBS student in Dr. Dung-Fang Lee’s lab, is also a recipient of the 2024 Dr. John J. Kopchick Fellowship for one year for her project, “Applying patient-derived induced Pluripotent Stem Cells (iPSCs) to investigate cancer-prone genetic disorders”.


Xiaoqin Wu, PhD

Assistant Professor, Xiaoqin Wu, PhD, received a pilot grant from the TMC Digestive Diseases Center for her study on the role of adipose mixed lineage kinase domain-like through extracellular vesicles in non-alcoholic fatty liver disease.


Jeff Frost, PhD

Professor, Jeff Frost, PhD, received a Neuroendocrine Tumor Research Foundation award for his project entitled, “Harnessing ferroptosis initiating drugs to target GEP-NETs”.



Sseu-Pei Huang

Sseu-Pei, GSBS student in Dr. Catherine Denicourt’s lab, has been reappointed as a BIG-TCR fellow to continue her research studying the translatomic changes resulting from ribosome heterogeneity, involving the epitranscriptomics regulation of rRNA in hopes of elucidating how specialized ribosomes are produced and identifying potential targets in the development of treatments for cancers.

Chrystine Gallegos

Chrystine Gallegos has been reappointed as a T32 TIPS trainee. She is studying glial cell stimulation and signaling on dorsal root ganglion nociceptors.


Chase Hutchins, GSBS student in Dr. Alex Gorfe’s lab, has been reappointed as a T32 TIPS trainee. He is studying membrane organization and membrane-dependent druggability of small GTPases using computational and experimental biophysics. (L) Chase with Dr. John J. Kopchick


Andrew Pickering, PhD Xiaoqin Wu, PhD

Xiaoqin Wu, PhD, (R) and Andrew Pickering, PhD, (L) have been appointed to the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (GSBS).



  • Junchen Liu, PhD, and Kyrylo Pyrshev, PhD, will be presenting at this year’s McGovern Medical School Research Retreat on March 5, 2024.
  • Yi-Ping Li, PhD, (pictured below) spoke at the American Pancreatic Association (APA) meeting about nilotinib as a potential treatment for cancer cachexia.
Dr. Yi-Ping Li at APA Conference - November 2023

Dr. Yi-Ping Li presenting at the APA Conference in November 2023